Wayne NJ Theft Lawyer
Criminal Defense Attorney in Passaic County, New Jersey
Being charged with the crime of Theft means that you are exposed to a term of incarceration and a number of other collateral consequences, including a requirement that you pay restitution to the alleged victim for his/her loss. Having an aggressive, experienced defense lawyer to guide you through the legal process is invaluable.
Criminal defense attorney Alissa D. Hascup represents clients throughout New Jersey, including in Wayne, Little Falls, Clifton, and Totowa who have been charged with theft and fraud crimes such as theft by deception, theft of services, shoplifting, and receiving stolen property. She is prepared to attack the State’s case and put you in a position to achieve the best possible result.
Ms. Hascup has successfully handled countless cases in New Jersey, in Superior Court (indictable/felony level offenses) and Municipal Court (disorderly persons/misdemeanor level offenses). She is a former domestic violence prosecutor and special deputy attorney general. During the course of her career with the Morris County Prosecutor’s Office, she handled cases ranging from Homicide (murder) and aggravated assault to robbery and weapons offenses. Now she is fighting for you. Contact her office anytime for an initial consultation, which is always provided free of charge.
Theft in New Jersey: N.J.S.A. 2C:20-3a
N.J.S.A. 2C:20-3a sets forth:
a. Movable property. A person is guilty of theft if he unlawfully takes, or exercises unlawful control over, movable property of another with purpose to deprive him thereof.
b. Immovable property. A person is guilty of theft if he unlawfully transfers any interest in immovable property of another with prupose to benefit himself or another not entitled thereto.
Grading (Degree) of Theft Crimes in New Jersey:
Theft constitutes a crime of the Second Degree (punishable by a term of incarceration between 5 and 10 years in New Jersey State Prison) if:
- The amount involved is $75,000 or more;
- The property is taken by extortion; or
- The property stolen is a controlled dangerous substance (“CDS”) and the quantity is in excess of one kilogram.
Theft constitutes a crime of the Third Degree (punishable by a term of incarceration between 3 and 5 years in New Jersey State Prison) if:
- The amount involved exceeds $500 but is less than $75,000;
- The property stolen is a firearm, motor vehicle, vessel, boat, horse, domestic companion animal or airplane;
- The property stolen is a CDS and the amount involved is less than $75,000 or is undetermined and the quantity is one kilogram or less;
- It is from the person of the victim; or
- The property stolen is a New Jersey Prescription Blank.
NOTE: A conviction for theft of a motor vehicle has a number of additional penalties, including penalties in excess of $500 and suspension of driving privileges for a minimum of one year. The court may also sentence a defendant convicted of motor vehicle theft to pay a fine in the event the vehicle is not recovered. See N.J.S.A. 2C:20-2.1 and 2C:20-2.2.
Theft constitutes a crime of the Fourth Degree (punishable by a term of incarceration up to 18 months in New Jersey State Prison if):
- The amount involved is at least $200 by does not exceed $500.
Otherwise, theft constitutes a disorderly persons offense (punishable by a term of incarceration up to 6 months in the county jail).
Contact a Paterson NJ Theft Lawyer for a Free Consultation
The consequences of a Theft conviction can be serious. Don’t delay in hiring legal representation. Protect your freedom and your rights. Alissa D. Hascup is available anytime to speak with you regarding your case. Call or email Ms. Hascup right away her to discuss your theft charges.