Wayne NJ Trespassing Defense Attorney
Trespassing Defense Lawyer with Offices in Little Falls, New Jersey
Alissa D. Hascup represents clients throughout New Jersey who have been charged with property offenses, including but not limited to robbery, burglary, and trespassing in Totowa, Wayne, Paterson, Haledon, and Clifton.
She is a skilled criminal defense attorney who has successfully handled thousands of cases in New Jersey, in Superior Court (indictable/felony level offenses) and Municipal Court (disorderly persons/misdemeanor level offenses). Ms. Hascup is a former Morris County Assistant Prosecutor who handled a host of domestic violence cases, ranging from homicide (murder) to terroristic threats, during the course of her career.
Being charged with a crime in the State of New Jersey as a result of a domestic violence or other related incident can have serious consequences. Having an experienced, aggressive defense lawyer will ensure that you put yourself in a position to achieve the best possible outcome.
Alissa D. Hascup is available anytime for a free initial consultation.
Trespassing in New Jersey: N.J.S.A. 2C:18-3a and N.J.S.A. 2C:18-3b
Trespassing is codified under N.J.S.A. 2C:18-3a and N.J.S.A. 2C:18-3b, which provides:
a. Unlicensed Entry.
A person commits an offense if, knowing that he is not licensed or privileged to do so, he enters or surreptitiously remains in any research facility, structure, or separately secured or occupied portion thereof, or in or upon utility company property
The offense is a crime of the fourth degree if it is committed in a school or on school property.
The offense is a crime of the fourth degree if it is committed in a dwelling.
The offense is a crime of the fourth degree if it is committed in a research facility, power generation facility, waste treatment facility, public sewage facility, water treatment facility, public water facility, nuclear electric generating plant or any facility which stores, generates or handles any hazardous chemical or chemical compounds.
The offense is a crime of the fourth degree if it is committed in or upon utility company property.
Otherwise, the offense is a disorderly persons offense.
b. Defiant Trespassing.
A person commits a petty disorderly persons offense if, knowing that he is not licensed or privileged to do so, he enters or remains in any place as to which notice against trespass is given by:
- Actual communication to the actor; or
- Posting in a manner prescribed by law or reasonably likely to come to the attention of intruders; or
- Fencing or other enclosure manifestly designed to exclude intruders.
A crime of the fourth degree is punishable by a term of imprisonment of up to 18 months in New Jersey State Prison.
A disorderly persons offense is punishable by a term of imprisonment of up to 6 months in the county jail.
A petty disorderly persons offense is punishable by a term of imprisonment of up to 3 months in the county jail.
Contact a Clifton NJ Trespassing Defense Lawyer Today
If you are facing charges of trespassing in New Jersey, Alissa D. Hascup is a skilled and knowledgeable attorney who will seek to avoid the imposition of a jail term by negotiating an alternate disposition on your behalf. For instance, if you are a first-time offender, we can attempt to negotiate your entry into a diversionary program like the Pre-Trial Intervention Program (“PTI”). Successful completion of the PTI Program would result in a dismissal of the charges against you.
Regardless of your criminal history (or lack thereof), if you find yourself in a situation where you or a loved one have been charged with trespassing as a result of a domestic violence or other related incident, the consequences can be serious. Contact Ms. Hascup immediately for a free consultation about your case.